Bryan Burrough
 - Author & TSPS Heritage Dinner Speaker

Phenomenal reviews and sales greeted the  publication of The Big Rich, New York Times bestselling author Bryan Burrough's spellbinding chronicle of Texas oil. Weaving together the multigenerational sagas of the industry's four wealthiest families, Burrough brings to life the men known in their day as the Big Four: Roy Cullen, H. L. Hunt, Clint Murchison, and Sid Richardson, all swaggering Texas oil tycoons who owned sprawling ranches and mingled with presidents and Hollywood stars.  Bryan Burrough is a special correspondent at Vanity Fair and the author of three previous books. A former reporter for the Wall Street Journal, he is a three-time winner of the John Hancock Award for excellence in financial journalism. Burrough lives in Summit, New Jersey, with his wife and their two sons.

James C. Grotting, MD - ASAPS President
Dr. James C. Grotting is a Clinical Professor of Plastic Surgery at The University of Alabama at Birmingham and The University of Wisconsin, Madison. He is the founder of his private practice in Birmingham, Alabama. He has been listed for 22 consecutive years in “The Best Doctors in America.” He is a director and senior examiner for the American Board of Plastic Surgery and is a fellow of the American College of Surgeons.

Dr. Grotting is the President of the American Society for Aesthetic Plastic Surgery (ASAPS) which is the world’s largest organization of board certified plastic surgeons devoted to the teaching of aesthetic (cosmetic) plastic surgery. He is also a member of the American Society of Plastic Surgeons, and the prestigious American Association of Plastic Surgeons. He is past president of the Southeastern Society of Plastic and Reconstructive Surgeons. Dr. Grotting has been a traveling Professor for both the Plastic Surgery Foundation and the American Society for Aesthetic Plastic Surgery. In 2014, he served as the International Traveling Professor for ASAPS. He is the founder of CosmetAssure, an insurance program that covers unexpected financial exposure for patients from complications in cosmetic surgery.

Dr. Grotting serves on numerous editorial boards and is the author or editor of six major textbooks in plastic surgery. He has lectured around the world and published numerous chapters and peer-reviewed journal articles in the fields of cosmetic surgery, aesthetic breast surgery, patient safety, and breast reconstruction. He has provided free plastic surgery for children with facial deformities in developing countries, through Operation Smile, since 1987.

Charles Verheyden, MD, PhD
 - ABPS Director

Dr. Verheyden is a professor of plastic surgery at Texas A&M University Medical School in College Station, Texas.  He also serves as the director of the division of plastic surgery at Scott & White Healthcare, a non-profit collaborative health care system that serves as the primary medical teaching facility for Texas A&M University College of Medicine.  Verheyden graduated from the University of Texas with an MD and PhD before attending the Mayo Graduate School of Medicine in Rochester, Minn. to complete residencies in surgery and plastic surgery. He recieved his board-certification from the American Board of Plastic Surgery in 1981 and became a member of ASPS the same year. Since 2008, Verheyden has served on the board of directors for both ASPS and The PSF. He also served as the chairman of several ASPS and PSF committees and as the associate editor of Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery. Verheyden served as president of the Texas Society of Plastic Surgeons from 1999-2000, the American Council of Academic Plastic Surgeons from 2010-2011 and is a director of the American Board of Plastic Surgery. 

 Jeff Janis, MD - Executive Vice Chairman of Plastic Surgery, Ohio State
Jeffrey E. Janis, M.D. is full-time faculty as a Professor and Executive Vice Chairman in the Department of Plastic Surgery at The Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center.  He operates at Ohio State University Medical Center, Ohio State University East, the James Comprehensive Cancer Center, and Gowdy Outpatient Surgery Center.  He was also part of the team that performed the first full U.S. face transplant at the Brigham and Women’s Hospital in Boston, Massachusetts.   Upon being recruited to Ohio State, he recently relinquished his roles as President-Elect of the Dallas County Medical Society, the 2nd largest medical society in the country with 2500 members, President-Elect of the Medical Staff/Medical Executive Committee at Parkland Health and Hospital System, with 1400 physicians, Chairman of the OR Committee, and Secretary/Treasurer of the Dallas Society of Plastic Surgeons.  Dr. Janis is the Editor of “Essentials of Plastic Surgery” – a worldwide, internationally renowned best-selling handbook of plastic surgery used by countless students, residents, fellows, and surgeons